top of page
  • Writer's pictureDylan Neumeyer

Blog Post #6: And so it Ends

This last year of engineering was incredible. I will never forget all the time I spent with my groups fiddling on a project and joking in the build room. One of my favorite parts about engineering is the bonds that you form and all the quips and comments in between the work. However, I am most proud of the fact that a device that I had a major part in creating went all the way to the JPL Invention Challenge finals and almost won first place. It was one of the few times that I felt truly competent in a scholastic event. Our team chemistry was amazing and our device was beautiful. The effort I put in to that project is totally evident and I felt that I had real value on that team.


Now, I plan on going to SMC for two years and then transfer to a UC for a Mechanical Engineering Degree. If there is one thing I wish I would have done through high school, it would be to try really, really hard in math. Now don't get me wrong, I definitely tried very hard in math, but in the end, I still had to retake a few math classes in college. So, if you want to be an engineer, place math class above all others and make sure you do well. You're going to want 5' on those AP exams. They will save you so much time, and will make the class truly feel worth it. I know it's your last year, but if you can redirect some effort, it will help a ton. Math is literally the basis of all we do. But really, just let yourself be creative. Engineering is just the art of science. So don't put restrictions on yourself and put faith in your ideas.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Entry #4 Mason the Capstone

This year I am really excited to finally be done with college applications and to start wrapping up my schooling. I also can't wait to put on "The Drowsy Chaperone" in Barnum Hall. This semester is al

Entry #3: JPL!!!

I really enjoyed working on the JPL Stick Wicket Challenge. The fact that I could show up to class and just build for over an hour was amazing. Also, I believe that my group did very well. Our build t

bottom of page