top of page
  • Writer's pictureDylan Neumeyer

Blog Post #5: Career Goals


John Kemp Starley, born in 1854, worked in bicycle manufacturing and design and was self educated. He got his first job by working under his uncle who had gained notoriety for his Penny-Farthing bicycle designs. John, too, became incredibly famous in the industry because he, with the help of William Sutton, designed the first modern bicycle (known then as the safety bicycle). It had equally sized wheels, a pedal and chain power delivery, and was much lower to the ground that the existing Penny-Farthings. Starley started his own company allowing him to pursue his goals and create something that would greatly influence his industry, which I find really admirable.

After high school, I hope to study mechanical engineering at a four-year university. In the future, I really want to work as a transportation engineer in bikes, trains, or automobiles. Just like Starley, my dream is to build a commuter and adventure bike company with frames and parts manufactured entirely in America. From an environmental and humanitarian perspective this is the most sustainable way to produce any durable consumer good. Container ships produce massive amounts of CO2 while a train shipping something across America is much more efficient, crossing a much smaller distance, and is already electrified in places like Europe. I want to create products that last someone their whole lifetime and can be passed down. Things shouldn’t just be replaced when they fail. They should be repairable and reusable so that we don’t cover our planet in needless waste.


Bicylce History. “John Kemp Starley - Inventor of the Modern Rover Bicycle.” Bicycle History, http://www.bicyclehistory.net/bicycle-inventor/john-kemp-starley/. Accessed 3 March 2023.


Edubilla. “John Kemp Starley biography, list of John Kemp Starley inventions.” Edubilla.com, http://www.edubilla.com/inventor/john-kemp-starley/. Accessed 3 March 2023.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #6: And so it Ends

This last year of engineering was incredible. I will never forget all the time I spent with my groups fiddling on a project and joking in the build room. One of my favorite parts about engineering is

Entry #4 Mason the Capstone

This year I am really excited to finally be done with college applications and to start wrapping up my schooling. I also can't wait to put on "The Drowsy Chaperone" in Barnum Hall. This semester is al

Entry #3: JPL!!!

I really enjoyed working on the JPL Stick Wicket Challenge. The fact that I could show up to class and just build for over an hour was amazing. Also, I believe that my group did very well. Our build t

bottom of page